|Home|Contact|Free Newsletter Subscription|News & Events
| August 1, 2015 |Total Visits 19851200
awards, honours, fellowships

2010 Judge|Jury Member (with the UK poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy & Elaine Feinstein) 10th Arvon Foundation International Poetry Competition (London). [First non-UK international judge invited.]

2009-10 Sanskriti Foundation Writers Fellowship (New Delhi).

2009 Jorge Zalamea Poetry Award (presented by the Colombian Government of South America & the Embassy of Colombia in New Delhi). Blue Nude, an unpublished book-in-progress, won it in an open international competition that attracted entries worldwide.

2009 A K Ramanujan Translation Award for Aria (a book of translations of modern South Asian and World Poetry).

2009 Jury Member, Srinivas Rayaprol Poetry Prize (India) — jointly administered by the S R Trust and the University of Hyderabad’s Department of English, in partnership with The Hindu newspaper group.

2009 Jury/Editorial Board Member, Katha Poetry E-Book series.

2008 Ledig House International Writer’s Fellowship (New York).

2007 nlpvf Dutch Foundation for Literature international ‘writer-in-residence’ fellowship (Amsterdam).

2007 Kathak Literary Award ­|Kathak Sahitya Puroshkar — for outstanding contribution to Bangladesh’s Literature (Dhaka).

2005 Judge|Jury Member (with Jayanta Mahapatra & Anita Nair), Dom Moraes Poetry Prize (India) — administered by Monsoon Editions (Yeti Books).

2004 Awarded the ‘Pleiades Honour’ at the world’s oldest poetry festival in Struga, Macedonia. As the Pleiades title suggests, seven internationally “famous poets” who have made “significant contribution to modern world poetry” are chosen to receive this prestigious honour — the other six on that year’s list included the Nobel prize nominated Chinese poet Bei Dao, Herder European Award winning Romanian poet Ana Blandiana, the Irish poet John F Deane, Arturo Korkuera from Peru, Al Janabi from Iraq, and Philip Johns from Belgium.

1997-98 Hawthornden Fellowship (UK) and Pushcart Prize nomination (USA) for poems included in Postmarked India: New & Selected Poems (HarperCollins).

1996 Faber & Faber Poetry Grant from the Arvon Foundation (UK).

1991-93 National Award Winner at the British Council Poetry Society of India ‘All India Poetry Competition’ on a couple of occasions.

1991 Poetry Circle (Bombay) National Poetry Competition Prize Winner.

1989 Inlaks Scholarship (India), India Abroad Scholarship (New York), and Columbia University Graduate Scholarship (New York) to pursue an MS in Journalism at Columbia University, New York.

1988 Bread Loaf Writers Scholarship, Bread Loaf Writers Conference, Middlebury College, Vermont, USA.

1988 Graduate School Scholarship to pursue M.A. in English & Writing, Hollins University, Virginia.

1987 International Scholarship & Vereen Bell Prize for Creative Writing, Davidson College (USA).

1985 Gurukul Scholarship from SPIC-MACAY (Kalakshetra, Madras).

1984 Jagmohan Pably Prize for academic excellence, Hindu College, University of Delhi

|Copyright © 2010 Sudeep Sen|Credits|
|Join me on Facebook Twitter Myspace Stumbled Upon Delicious Digg Wordpress Youtube Vimeo